Lok Sabha Election Phase 4 Live: Polling To Begin At 7 Am; Urmila, Priya Dutt, Babul Supriyo, Moon Moon Sen In Fray

Anuwar Hazarika / Reuters

6:30 am: Polling To Start At 7 am; Urmila, Priya Dutt, Babul Supriyo, Moon Moon Sen In Fray

71 seats throughout 9 states pass to ballot on Monday in section four of the Lok Sabha elections. As other folks forged their votes, we carry you reside updates during the day — the great, the unhealthy and the unsightly.

Greater than part of India — 303 Lok Sabha constituencies — has already voted within the first 3 levels of the Lok Sabha Election 2019 that started on 11 April. The polls had been marked through malfunctioning EVMs and missing voters elevating questions concerning the equity of all of the workout. Some states like Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal additionally noticed in style clashes between birthday party cadre that led to deaths.

Whilst violence used to be reported from West Bengal all through all 3 levels, the Election Fee has stated that 580 central forces are being deployed in section four. “We predict this may occasionally allow us to hide as many as 100 in step with cent of the polling stations through central forces,” the Election Fee legit informed PTI.

For the newest elections news and extra, apply HuffPost India on TwitterFacebook, and subscribe to our newsletter.

5 seats in Bihar — Darbhanga, Ujiarpur, Samastipur, Begusarai and Munger — will pass to polls in section 4, however all eyes will probably be on Begusarai. Right here, Communist Celebration of India (CPI) candidate Kanhaiya Kumar (profile) will tackle BJP’s Giriraj Singh. Kumar made headlines when he used to be in short jailed in 2016 on fees of sedition. The PhD from Jawaharlal Nehru College noticed many well-known faces like Swara Bhaskar and Shabana Azmi marketing campaign for him. That is the primary time he’s contesting polls.

In Darbhanga, cricketer-turned flesh presser Kirti Azad, who turned into an MP on a BJP price ticket, is now contesting from the Congress. He’s contesting towards BJP’s Gopalji Thakur.

In Uttar Pradesh the voters in Shahjahanpur, Kheri, Hardoi, Misrikh, Unnao, Farrukhabad, Etawah, Kannauj, Kanpur, Akbarpur , Jalaun, Jhansi and Hamirpur will forged their votes. In Kannauj, Samajwadi Celebration’s Dimple Yadav (profile), the one girl from UP to had been elected to the Parliament uncontested, will probably be contesting towards BJP’s Subrat Pathak. She is the incumbent MP who controlled to resist the Modi wave in 2014.

In Unnao, debatable BJP MP Sakshi Maharaj (profile) is contesting towards Samajwadi Celebration’s Arun Shankar Shuklaa. Within the run as much as the elections Sakshi Maharaj has threatened to curse everybody from the citizens to his personal birthday party.

In West Bengal, Baharampur, Krishnanagar, Ranaghat, Bardhaman Purba, Asansol, Bolpur,  Bardhaman-Durgapur and Birbhum will pass to polls. One of the vital key contests will probably be fought in Asansol the place TMC’s Moon Moon Sen (profile) will tackle Union Minister Babul Supriyo, who may be the incumbent MP in Asansol. Sen is the incumbent MP from Bankura.

In Maharashtra, Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai South and Mumbai South-Central, Maval and Shirur and Shirdi pass to polls. Mumbai has a number of famous person applicants. This contains Union Minister Milind Deora (profile) from Mumbai South the place he takes on incumbent Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant. Actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar (profile) is contesting on a Congress price ticket for the primary time from Mumbai north towards incumbent BJP MP Gopala Shetty. Priya Dutt (profile) is contesting from the Mumbai North Central Lok Sabha seat, which she misplaced in 2014. She is contesting towards BJP’s Poonam Mahajan.

In Rajasthan Tonk-Sawai Madhopur, Ajmer, Pali, Jodhpur, Barmer, Jalore, Udaipur, Banswara, Chittorgarh, Rajsamand, Bhilwara, Kota and Jhalawar-Baran pass to polls. Congress’ Vaibhav Gehlot (profile) is pitted towards BJP’s Gajendra Singh Shekhawat in Jodhpur, which is thought of as leader minister Ashok Gehlot’s house turf. Whilst the Congress defeated the BJP within the 2018 meeting polls, it is still observed if citizens will make a choice Congress applicants in Rajasthan.

This would be the first section of polling in Madhya Pradesh with six seats going to polls — Sidhi, Shahdol, Mandla, Balaghat, Jabalpur and Chhindwara. Whilst the BJP had swept the state within the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, the Congress controlled to direction the BJP out within the Meeting polls held in 2018. Chhindwara, identified to be Kamal Nath’s bastion, used to be some of the seats that the BJP didn’t win 2014.

Anantnag is going to polls in Jammu and Kashmir. For the primary time polls are being held in a single Lok Sabha seat in 3 levels. The constituency has observed a document low voter turnout in those polls.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here