United Left Panel Sweeps All Four Seats, Defeating ABVP

United Left Panel Sweeps All Four Seats, Defeating ABVP

The united left panel gained all 4 scholars’ union seats within the Jawaharlal Nehru College (JNU) elections on Sunday after a counting procedure that were interrupted through threats of violence.

The president’s put up was once gained through N. Sai Balaji of the All India Scholars’ Affiliation (AISA) with 2,161 votes. Balaji defeated Lalit Pandey of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) through 1,179 votes.

Sarika Chaudhary of the Democratic Scholars’ Federation gained the vice-president’s put up with 2,692 votes, defeating ABVP’s Geetasri Boruah through 1,680 votes.

Scholars’ Federation of India’s Aejaz Ahmad Reasonably is the brand new JNUSU normal secretary with 2,423 votes. Reasonably’s closest rival Ganesh Gurjar (ABVP) had were given 1,123 votes.

Amutha Jayadeep of the All India Pupil’s Federation gained the joint secretary’s put up with 2,047 votes, defeating ABVP’s Venkat Choubey through 800 votes.

Counting of votes was once suspended for greater than 14 hours on Saturday, after ABVP individuals allegedly entered the counting centre and tried to snatch poll papers. An ABVP place of job bearer, on the other hand, accused the Election Committee of “rigging the election” in favour of Left events.

In a remark on Saturday, 12 scholars’ organisations from JNU condemned the violence:

“The ABVP’s acts represent a significant violation of the election procedure. The ABVP through indulging in violence has now not handiest disrupted the counting procedure, but additionally sought to undermine the sanctity of the scholar EC whose choice is abided through all organisations.”

Elections in JNU are performed through the scholars themselves not like different universities, the place the management runs the method.

Greater than five,000 scholars solid their votes within the election on Friday.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here